The Trials and Waiting

So I realize the time gap in my blog posts, but when I focus on one thing, I get so caught up, that others will slip away.

When I made my New Year’s Resolution to write something everyday, I knew I would end up breaking it, but this was one that I was going to keep even after I broke it. Two weeks after the 1st I skipped a day. Fine, I wrote the day after that. Missed a day here and there. February has a giant 2 week chunk missing…I was busy! But I find this exercise more than anything has helped me start my new book.

I hope one day, when I get an Agent, and we have a good relationship and many books between the two of us, I can show him/her Dawn of the Phoenix and finally see it in bookstores. For now, it has been shelved.

There is something liberating and terrifying in starting over. It’s a clean slate, but one that you have to scratch somewhere and then allow the chaos to follow. The first time I wrote a novel I wrote it straight through, half making it up as I went, half planned in my head. It was hard, and I’m sure the many writers reading this are cringing.

This new novel has already benefited from my new year’s resolution. I have an overview and running chapter outline. I think I’ll try it this way, see if it makes a difference. My goal here is to have this novel finished and critiqued by May which is when the next Backspace Conference is. I know, I know, why am I wasting time writing on a blog when I clearly have a lot of work to do. Well, I think it’s important that other new writers find this post. You need to know that even if you put your heart and soul into a book, and it goes nowhere, you can still start over. Fight that fear and the “what’s the point” attitude. Remember the reasons you write, what you wanted to make a novel, and just keep repeating them to yourself. Rock back and forth in padded room with a comfortable jacket on if it helps.

Hobey- ho, Geronimo, Onwards and upwards, and all that! What’s your new book about?

Oh also, you should go to the link below. The tips and advice will sound familiar but really reassuring!

http://the99percent.com/tips/7082/25-Insights-on-Becoming-a-Better-Writer

Leave a comment

Filed under encouragement, Writing Tips

Leave a Reply

